Mothering Forum banner

How about a fermented veggies thread?

37K views 340 replies 140 participants last post by  Kentuckygirl 
#1 ·
Anyone interested in talking about their favorite ways to make fermented veggies? I love my veggie ferments, and I think they deserve as much respect as yogurt and kefir (which are also staples in our house). Fermented veggies are living foods that can heal and balance the digestive system, plus they're delicious to boot!

Right now I've got sauerkraut and brined garlic brewing on the counter, and tomorrow I'm hoping to start a new batch of kimchi. I'd really like to try something fun like ginger beer sometime soon, and am open to any new ideas!

#2 ·
I am just getting started on fermenting veggies. I did my first sourkraut last week and it is so so so very good. Way better than I thought it would be. Of course it is taking every bit of self restraint not to cook it with a pork roast or god forbid hot dogs!!! I want to try kimchi next. How do you do your garlic? I love garlic so maybe I shouldn't know...I might become obsessed! I also want to try pickles but am kinda scared I will screw it up some how. I am a well rounded cook, so I do not know why I feel so intimidated by ferments! I guess I just need to try.

#3 ·
I've been reading Wild Fermentation by Sandor Elix Katz. Awesome book! Well... there are lots of weirdnesses, but also a TON of good recipes. I can't wait to try some of them. I got the book from my library because I didn't want to buy it without knowing more about it. I think I'm gonna have to buy this one...

#4 ·

I'm making borsht for lunch today. I cook potatoes and carrots and peas in stock (I prefer beef, but I have chicken), and then once they are cooked and the heat is off, I add in some l-f beets (I don't to it like in NT, I chop them, smaller than regular pickled beets, but big enough that they are pieces, yk? they are a bit crispy, still) and saurkraut.

#5 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by missi66